All 21 campgrounds and chains below accept dogs. At most of them a campsite costs $0–$5 per night per dog with a two-dog limit and a 6-ft leash rule — cabins are the catch, running $10–$30 per night per pet where dogs are allowed in them at all. The standouts: 4 Paws Kingdom in North Carolina, built entirely around dogs with seven off-leash parks and a doggie bathhouse, and Normandy Farms in Massachusetts with its 1.5-acre off-leash park and dog wash. At chains like KOA and Jellystone every location sets its own fees and breed rules, so call before you book. See how these rules compare across industries in our pet policy statistics.

Quick picks by situation

  • Built for dogs: 4 Paws Kingdom (NC) — seven fenced off-leash parks, agility, lure coursing, doggie bathhouse; up to 4 dogs included.
  • Best off-leash dog park: Normandy Farms (MA) — 1.5-acre Freedom Tail Park with agility gear, dog wash, and a separate small-dog area.
  • Dog beach: Fort De Soto Park (FL) — fenced dog park plus the county’s only off-leash dog beach right next door.
  • No pet fee: Blackwoods at Acadia National Park (ME) and Florida state parks like Hillsborough River — dogs camp free on a 6-ft leash.
  • Dogs in cabins: Riverside in Big Sur (CA, $30/night) and Cherry Hill Park (MD, $30/night, select cabins only — call first).
  • Wherever you roam: KOA (500+ locations), Jellystone (75+), and Thousand Trails — fees and breed rules vary by location.

✓ Policies verified August 26, 2026 Every row links to its source. Policies change — confirm with the campground before you commit.

Campground Deposit / fee Weight limit Max pets Source
4 Paws Kingdom Campground & Dog Retreat (NC) Included for up to 4 dogs; $4/night per extra dog — 4 included per site (rate-based), extra dogs $4/night each Official policy ↗
Riverside Campground & Cabins (CA) $5/night per dog (campsites); $30/night plus tax per dog (cabins/rooms) — 2 pets per site, cabin, or room Official policy ↗
Sun Outdoors Moab Downtown (UT) No additional fee for up to 2 pets ≤35 lbs each (per secondary sources; official site blocked WAF 403 on direct fetch) 35 lbs per pet (secondary source) 2 pets, ≤35 lbs each (per secondary source) Source ↗
Sagadahoc Bay Campground (ME) 2 pets included in site rate; $10/day per additional pet (sites); $10/day per dog, max 2 (cabins) — 2 pets per site without campground approval; max 2 dogs in cabins Official policy ↗
Sun Retreats Texas Hill Country (TX) $50 per reservation (max 2 pets); $50 non-refundable fee/reservation for cottage rentals with pet (per secondary sources; official site blocked WAF 403) — 2 pets per reservation Source ↗
Sun Outdoors Rocky Mountains (CO) $50 per pet, per stay (max 2 dogs); per secondary sources, official site blocked WAF 403 — 2 dogs of any size Source ↗
Dark Sky RV Campground (UT) Not stated — — Source ↗
Elkamp Eastcreek (WA) $3.00/night per pet — 3 per reservation Official policy ↗
Lost River Valley Campground (NH) $0 at campsites; $20 fee for pets in a cabin — 2 per site Official policy ↗
Hillsborough River State Park (FL) Not stated (Florida state parks generally charge no separate pet fee) — — Source ↗
Knoebels Campground (PA) Not stated (no fee mentioned) — — Official policy ↗
Boulder Creek RV Resort (CA) Not stated — 2 per RV/tent site; 1 per dog-friendly cabin (Cabins 70-71) Official policy ↗
Normandy Farms Campground (MA) Dog park free for guests; Canine Coops (day kennels) $20/day + $20 refundable deposit — 3 dogs per guest at one time Official policy ↗
Gulf State Park Campground (AL) Standard sites: none stated beyond normal camping fee; dog-friendly cabins/accommodations: $150 non-refundable pet deposit (differs from other Alapark properties' $30/night) — — Official policy ↗
Fort De Soto Park Campground (FL) Not stated (no pet fee listed in official camping info) — Not stated on official page (secondary sources say up to 2 dogs) Source ↗
Sun Outdoors Rehoboth Bay (DE) Varies by accommodation - RV sites reportedly no pet fee; cabin/cottage rentals typically $50-$100 non-refundable fee per reservation (corporate pattern) - could not confirm on-property amount directly (page returned 403 WAF) — 2 pets per reservation typical corporate limit (unconfirmed for this specific property) Source ↗
Yogi Bear's Jellystone Park (Nationwide) Varies by location - example locations charge ~$25/night/pet for pet-friendly rentals; many allow leashed pets free at RV/tent sites Varies by location (some rentals ~25 lbs) Typically 2 pets per site (varies by location; some franchise sites impose weight limits e.g. under 25 lbs without manager approval) Source ↗
Blackwoods Campground, Acadia National Park (ME) $0 - dogs stay free (no pet fee, standard NPS campground fee only) — — Official policy ↗
Cherry Hill Park (MD) $30/night per pet for cabin and glamping pod stays; not specified for RV sites (implied no fee) — Not stated (multiple pets welcomed per policy text, no numeric cap given) Official policy ↗
Thousand Trails (Nationwide) Varies by location - non-refundable pet fee applies to rental units (exact amount not stated on the corporate standards page; secondary sources cite ~$10/night/pet at some properties). Service animals exempt from any fee. — Not stated on corporate page (secondary sources cite up to 3 pets per site at some properties) Official policy ↗
KOA - Kampgrounds of America (Nationwide) Varies by location and accommodation - no fee typically for tent/RV sites; cabin fees commonly $10-$30/night/pet at individual locations (e.g. $25 Deluxe Cabin / $10 Camping Cabin at one Orlando-area KOA; $15/$30 at an Emmett-area KOA) - not one corporate number — Not stated corporate-wide; varies by location Source ↗

— means the company doesn’t publish that detail. Tap a column header to sort, or a campground’s arrow for breed rules and conditions.

Before you book: the 4 things to confirm

Campground pet pages go stale, and at franchised chains the location’s rules beat the corporate page every time. One call saves a ruined trip — ask:

  1. The fee for your exact stay. Campsite and cabin fees usually differ, and undeclared pets can trigger charges (one Sun Outdoors property lists a $250 minimum cleaning fee).
  2. Breed and size rules. Individual KOA, Jellystone, and Sun Outdoors locations sometimes restrict breeds their insurer flags, even when corporate doesn’t.
  3. Where dogs can actually go. State and national parks allow dogs at campsites on a 6-ft leash but often ban them from beaches, pools, and some trails.
  4. Paperwork. Most require current rabies vaccination; several want the records at check-in.

Service dogs are not pets under the ADA — pet fees and limits don’t legally apply to them.

Frequently asked questions

Are dogs allowed at most campgrounds?

Yes — camping is one of the most dog-friendly ways to travel. Every campground in our table accepts dogs, usually up to two per site for $0-$5 a night, on a 6-ft leash. The rules tighten for cabins, pools, beaches, and buildings, and franchised chains set rules per location, so always confirm your exact stay.

What is the most dog-friendly campground in the US?

4 Paws Kingdom in Rutherfordton, North Carolina — it is built around dogs, not just tolerant of them: seven fenced off-leash parks, an agility park, lure coursing, a doggie bathhouse, and up to four dogs included per site. Normandy Farms in Massachusetts is the runner-up with its 1.5-acre off-leash park and dog wash.

What are the typical campground rules for dogs?

The near-universal three: keep your dog on a 6-ft (or shorter) leash outside your site, never leave them unattended, and clean up waste. Most campgrounds also require current rabies vaccination, cap you at two or three dogs, and ban pets from bathhouses, pools, and food areas.

Do KOA campgrounds allow dogs?

Yes — dogs are welcome at KOA tent and RV sites, generally free, on a 6-ft max leash. Cabins are the variable: each of the 500+ locations sets its own cabin pet fee (commonly $10-$30 per night) and some restrict specific breeds, so check your exact KOA before booking.

How can I find dog-friendly hiking near a campground?

Check the land manager, not the campground: national parks like Acadia publish exact dog-allowed trail lists (Acadia has 100 miles of them), and state park sites do the same. Rules differ trail by trail — some ban dogs outright — so look up the trail before you drive out.